A historic property on San Diego’s Coronado Island
Built in 1906, the main building of the 1906 Lodge was a joint design by two renowned San Diego architects: Will Sterling Hebbard and Irving Gill. Over a century later, iconic elements of their individual styles can be seen throughout the property. For example, the exterior rough stucco, major box dormers, and hipped roofs are typical of Hebbard styles, while the interior’s Mission-style fireplace with spiral-leaded glass windows, along with “inglenook” or box bench seats on either side of the fireplace, are typical Gill designs.
Owned by Florence C. Roper, the 1906 Lodge was originally used as a boarding house for students of the School of Aviation at North Island, which is the current site of today’s Naval Air Station North Island. It was in the 1920s, after being acquired by the Winchester family, that the property was first used as a hotel as the Bay View Lodge.
In 1942, the Bay View Lodge was purchased by James J. Trant and renamed Trant Manor. It was used again as a boarding house, but after many years it slipped into disrepair.
In 2009, the new owners, recognizing the historic significance of the building, completed major restoration and renovation work, resulting in the beautiful 1906 Lodge that welcomes guests today. And in summer 2015, the 1906 Lodge joined the Four Sisters Inns collection.